creative lenna

By creativelenna

Rainbow Nia

On my way to class on Longboat Key today, I saw a rainbow! I kept glancing at it while I was driving, amazed - but knew if I tried to stop and take a photo I'd be late for class. When I got there and walked out onto the beach, there was the same rainbow! I took a few photos before class began as I have not seen that many rainbows before. See more photos here.

When class started the rainbow was still there peeking out of the clouds. I did the warm ups, following my instructor as pelicans and terns flew overhead and a great blue heron landed a little distance to my right. Again, I had a great feeling of connection to nature as I moved my body through the breeze watching the birds, the waves and the clouds while moving barefoot on the sand. I find the setting for this Nia class very spiritual.

I did take a water break in the middle of class and snap a few photos too. Later at home I went to Photoshop and put one of my rainbow photos together with one of the nia class photos. I did a couple different versions as I really just play around until I find what I like. I hope you enjoy this one! view larger here.

I know I reference Nia a lot here via my blips, but it is now a big part of my life and brings me much joy as well as fitness of mind and body. Even though I have danced most of my life, I took my first Nia class here in Florida just a little over a year ago. Today I made the commitment to take the White Belt Nia Training that will be offered here on Anna Maria Island in October. It is a week-long, 50 hour training designed for personal enrichment and professional development if you like, should you want to teach Nia. I am excited about the training and this decision feels very right! I am thinking about teaching, but will take it for personal enrichment and decide later if teaching would be right for me.
xo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.