Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The Royal Photographic Society Journal

Thank you for all the hearts and kind words on my little otter yesterday - he is currently sitting on the 2nd page of the popular pages. I have spent all day editing my photos from yesterday. I was careful not to take too many images - years of advice from reading articles and from pro photographers have taught me consider each shot carefully, and I don't believe in the 'pray and spray' approach. Yesterday I heard many cameras on 'continuous high' setting just clicking away, without stopping to think about what they were seeing. There are only so many shots you can take of one scene! Anyway, I ended up with 350 images and on uploading them to my computer I immediately binned 100 of them, and have spent today editing the rest of them - still not finished! It was a very good day out yesterday, and the great thing about doing a Nikon Training day is that the leader brings a huge selection of lenses for us to try out and use for the day. I actually only used my lenses, but there was quite a selection of enormous long lenses to use, including the 600mm prime lens (which costs close to £10,000).

So no time for photos today - I got my RPS journal yesterday in the post which features the article on me getting my LRPS. I feel a bit embarrassed to post it here but I did want it in my journal for my sake, so please excuse me for posting it. I was asked to submit a self portrait too, and usually it is a tiny thumbnail next to the article - why it ended up being such a large image in the article is a bit odd, it looks as if it was part of my panel which it isn't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.