Looking for the snow

This morning we had snow, then it disappeared and we had to go out into the hills to find it. On the slopes of Murton Pike.

 
Reading Record (just for my record and anyone interested - don't feel obliged to read). I set myself the challenge of reading one book a week - this is what I read in February:

The King of the North by Max Adams
A very detailed, and at times hard going, book telling the story of Oswald who ruled Northumbria, which was then most of the North of England, from AD634 to 642. Fascinating. I liked it a lot.
 
The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
Thoroughly enjoyed it. (Thanks Veronica.)
 
When I lived in Modern Times by Linda Grant
I had never heard of this, but it was on my list of Orange Prize winners - this won in 2000. Set in Palestine in 1946, I don't think I knew enough about the political situation to fully appreciate what was going on, but it was interesting reading.
 
Affinity by Sarah Waters
Well, it is Sarah Waters - not a lot more to say. Carefully crafted, creates the grim atmosphere of Millbank Prison in the 1870s, has you guessing right to the end and then the tables are completely turned. Enjoyable, a great read.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.