Brotherly Love

Spent over four hours in my bro's car today travelling from Sussex to Berkshire through a hail storm, rain and terrible traffic to pay a visit to our Nan.

A couple of hours catching up with Nan together was really nice and she had us running about doing jobs for her including me massaging cramp out of her toes - now that's love I can tell you!

I showed Nan a story I'd written when I was 12 years old about her being an evacuee in the Second World War. Nan was really interested to read it and read it out aloud to us.

The story triggered happy memories of her time in Weymouth from the age of seven until she was fourteen. She recalled going into the Anderson shelter and told me off for not including it in the story. Amazing that despite her progressing dementia she's still able to remember 1940!

All too soon it was time to say goodbye to Nan until next time and to face the traffic home. Plenty of downtime for my bro and I to catch up on each other's news. Rare chance for us to be one on one too which was lovely.

My Blip photo today is circa 1983 with my brother and I jumping around in a muddy trench which were the foundations to the garage. Dad tells me he didn't get much digging done that day and reckons we were either playing trains coming out of a tunnel or I was a monster chasing my bro. Which do you think it was? Imagination isn't it a wonderful thing?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.