Bluebird Bonanza

As I stood at the kitchen window about midday, I noticed more bird activity than usual in the backyard. There were several cardinals posing in the Dogwood tree, then along came a red-bellied woodpecker, and then a Northern Flicker.  I ran to get my camera, slipped out onto the porch and opened the door slowly. I managed to get off a few shots of the cardinal before they all flew off. I grabbed a chair on the deck, parked myself in it and waited for them to forget about me and drift back. First came the house finches and then to my amazement 6 bluebirds showed up. They missed the mealworms but checked out all the other feeders and posed so nicely for me. I was mesmerized and just kept shooting. I hope they have come to check out our prime bird real estate and the lovely new Bluebird house that we have put up.  I have added a few extras.  

After this, I decided to put out an additional plate of mealworms. When I got back into the kitchen I noticed one of the squirrels eyeing  the plate.  He approached it like a spooked kitten, getting into a spread eagle position then jumping back, then slithering forward and jumping back again. It was quite amusing especially since these mealworms are dried and not live. Since I knew I had my blip of a bluebird… I just watched him and laughed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.