pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Norwich Guildhall

Saying that I'm dieting, immediately makes me hungry. I wish I would lose a pound for every time I've said I want to be slimmer. With a holiday booked, and the prospect of wearing less than 2 layers of clothing, I neeeeeed to do it!!

Up later than I wanted to be and took the dogs out. Didn't get to work until 8.45 and with the sun out, had a walk at lunchtime in and around the centre of the city. I'd picked up a leaflet about 'History Mystery' which was just one thing going on in the Guildhall, together with a crystal shop and a café, and it made me want to photograph the building, and of course find out a bit more.

My work friend Sandra got me started, telling me it was once the Magistrates Court. So, this is what I went on to discover.
It was built between 1407 & 1413 and served as the seat of city government until 1938 when it was replaced by the city hall that I blipped a week or so ago. It is the largest surviving medieval civic building in the country outside of London. Now that is quite something. Somehow, I feel it should be more than a cafe and crystal shop!

I left work at 4.30 and after a stupidly long, frustrating & tiring journey, got home at 6.10. Put washing in, cleared away, cooked, ate, washed up. Sat down at 9. Washing needs to be hung out, but I think I'll do it in the morning.

Anyone want to swap lives with me?

I think I'll just go to bed now

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.