One Step at a Time

By thepoacher

What the Dickens ?

I think it's fair to say that I failed dismally at participating in the Dickens challenge hosted by hildasrose.

However, I did come across a little coincidence that I feel warrants posting. This shot is of the back of my copy of The Pickwick Papers purchased a few years back in Hay-on-Wye. The reason for the purchase wasn't for the book itself but for the postcard hidden inside the book (see extras).

The card was to an address very close to us (in Walsall) and gave details of the next reading club meeting to be held in March 1936 at a meeting place very close to where I work.

That was enough of a coincidence at the time to make us buy the book. Imagine my surprise when I dug this out a few days back and noticed the date of the postmark. 80 years to the day this very day ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.