Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

Blue Skies

Another day of the Edinburgh Independents Beer Festival in which I visited The Caley Sample, The Bow Bar and Holyrood 9a. The "Caley" is not a bar I have been to for about 14 years (I used to live next door to it, but now I'm on the opposite side of the city). It has changed radically and is now more of a "Gastro-pub" rather than the big barn it used to be, it looks pretty good, although it was very quiet early on a Friday afternoon.

It wasn't all beer yesterday I did take a break to saunter down the Royal Mile (between the Bow Bar and Holyrood 9a) and stopped to watch a street entertainer do a spot of knife juggling, sword swallowing and lie under a "bed of nails" (i.e. the usual) it won't be long now until The Fringe is in full swing and the Mile will be packed with performers, tourists and flyers!

Anyway, after a couple ickle drinks at the Holyrood 9a I headed back to the Mile to catch a bus home and imagine my surprise to see blue sky! This photo was taken in the Cannongate (bottom section of the Royal Mile) and includes the sign for "The People's Story Museum" and the clock on the Tollbooth Tavern which was built in 1591 and where visitors to the city would pay a congestion charge (or toll) before entering the city centre.

I'm not optimistic the blue skies will remain for the weekend...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.