Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Adventure gardening

I don't know much anything about the native conditions for Dierama pulcherrimum but I'd venture a guess that it's some highland boggy terrain that gets a lot of wind and rain. These bowing bell-like flowers seem pretty rain proof and sway in the wind, which is just as well because it was teeming down when I wanted to get out in the garden this morning.

I got a bit wet trying to photograph these and was quite happy with the results when the sun came out and I decided to try a shot from underneath against the sky and nearly did myself a mischief putting my body at an angle for which it wasn't designed.

I've been reading a little more about the tragedy on Mont Blanc and looking back at the pictures of our climb over the same route in 2004. I was eight years younger then and I'm not sure I would do it now. This morning I got thoroughly soaked and exhausted photographing a flower. That's about my level these days - adventure gardening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.