Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Pippa's stick

This is my stick, says Pippa, and I'm taking it home.

After the adventure gardening yesterday we felt brave enough to try a bit of extreme butterfly spotting today on Great Bookham Common. There were lots of butterflies flitting about when we entered the woods - then the sun went in and the butterflies went doggo. I'd taken pics of a Comma and a Ringlet and a dragonfly and they were OKish.

The thing is I met a man on a bike who had a box, inside which was a camera with a supermacro lens and double flashlights that could take pictures of ants in super fine detail as big as your hand. It was a Mr Toad moment.

"Poop, poop," I said, "How much did all that kit set you back?"

"Four grand," he said.

"Poop, poop," I said.

"We don't have that kind of money," said Gill.

"We can sell the car," I said, looking at my old lenses that were like jam jar glass in comparison.

So I didn't blip the Comma or the Ringlet but trudged around the rest of the common until Pippa found this supermacro stick that didn't cost anything. But, she says, it's the best stick in the world.

I threw the stick for her and she fetched it. Sometimes on Blipfoto, all it takes is a dog and a stick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.