monochrome

By monochrome

Starbucks: Stub it out?

Hell no - I'm sad to say that I am addicted to the stuff. I've managed to cut my Starbucks in-take to three grande triple-shot wet lattes a week (well, workdays at least - weekends don't count), i.e. Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings.
It all started when I first started working in the city centre, what with SBs only being a 2 minute walk from where I work. At first it was a Friday morning treat - I'd pop in on the way to work for a cheeky latte and a choc-chip cookie. Then I started going on Monday mornings, just to kick start the week. Then I had to start going on Wednesdays, just to split the difference. At one point, I was going every morning!
So, I have been trying to cut down on my 'bucks intake. I have tried making my own coffee at home in the morning and bringing it to work in a flask, however it just doesn't compare with the triple-shot goodness. In saying that, that was when I was simply brewing some filter coffee (as I hadn't quite got the hang of making lattes on my coffee maker), so perhaps it's time to reinvestigate that option.
One thing I will say is that the Christmas-type flavours are a big no-no. The only saving grace of their Christmas campaign is that they do a cranberry & orange muffin, which is particularly delicious (especially in light of the deterioration in the quality of their blueberry and choc muffins - "new improved recipie" my arse!).
I shall endevour to kick the habit by the end of the year, so as I can start 2009 afresh (and hopefully save a few pennies too!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.