SWALWELL

The weather today has been nasty - rain  for most of the time.  However I decided to go out to Swalwell.  Neil was working there today - a long shift -  9.40am till 9.35pm so I thought I would pop in and see him.  As I was waiting at the bus stop the weather got worse - heavy rain/sleet so I got soaked as there was no bus shelter - and the bus was late.

After seeing Neil I crossed the road to take my blip shot.  The building on the right was originally The Angel Inn - a 17th century coaching inn on the route to Hexham. Built in 1640 it is the oldest building in Swalwell and has no foundations. The building on the left - The Highlander pub - was originally the stables of The Angel and opened as a pub in 1928.  The first floor of The Angel was used as a surgery in 1900 and the building was at one time the village Post Office.  When I lived in Swalwell in the 80's The Angel was an Antique shop and B&B. Since then it has been a property management company but at the moment it looks unoccupied.  The Highlander Pub is going strong and is very popular.

After taking my photo I did some shopping in Lidl.  By the time I came out the rain had stopped.

Steps today - 5,139

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.