Common Ground

If I had to choose just one craft beer to drink the rest of my life, this would be it -- "Bog Sauce," one of Toolbox Brewing Company's complex and delicious beers. It's a Berliner Weisse (wheat ale) brewed with raspberries and cranberries. 

Toolbox Brewing Company's tasting room is in a light industrial park in Vista, California, and is the only brewery we went to twice during our stay in southern California. It was the beer that drew us initially, but the friendly, informative staff; the quiet atmosphere; and the interesting folks we met there are what brought us back for a second visit.

At such a fraught time in our country, when the divisions by political party and presidential candidate preference seem more insurmountable than at any time I can recall, it's great to go into a brewpub and have an interesting, far-ranging conversation with people half our age or younger, with no mention of politics. We found it very easy to chat with those around us, both customers and brewery staff, as equals, despite our advanced ages.

Speaking of advanced ages, perhaps that's why I'm so slow in transitioning from travel (we arrived home late Thursday afternoon) to stowing all the travel gear. Chwarae teg ("fair play" in Welsh), I did have an eye exam this morning and yoga this afternoon, followed by a stop at the library, plus two loads of wash done and three meals made...

I'll gradually catch up with all your journals, and will share another backblip or two as I wend my way toward another major milestone -- 1500 blips!

(I've added an extra of the draft beer list the day we were at Toolbox... not your usual brews!)

Blip 1495 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.