Whose shoes?

Here is one of the more bizarre sights on my walk to work. This morning I spotted this pair of shoes hanging from its laces high above the traffic on Melville Drive on the southern edge of the Meadows in Edinburgh. My blip reminds me of another from 3rd August 2012.

*Update* Further to walkingMarj's comment below, I have discovered that shoe tossing is a folk sport!

I spent much of the day engaged in arrangements for PhD students: helping to confirm supervision teams for an incoming cohort; negotiating a site for data collection for a second year; discussing second stage data collection with another second year; and confirming that all is in order for forthcoming conference submission deadlines for four of the students that I supervise. At lunchtime we handed over a card to our colleague Bruce, who is celebrating a significant birthday tomorrow.

After work my pal Laura and I had a wee catch-up in a quiet bar near campus. Then I came home to a wonderful homemade pizza - thank you Mr hazelh!

Exercise today: back-friendly sit-ups, weights, and stretches; walk to work (12,072 steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.