2nd Sat Strollers

By AndrewDBurns

an immensity of ether

This English version of 'La Musique', has been taken from Charles Baudelaire's (in)famous "Flowers of Evil" ...

... the translation is by Jacques LeClercq - all from the pictured 1958 edition:


Music

Music oft seizes me and sweeps me like a sea
toward where my star shines pale,
With mists for ceiling, or through an immensity
of ether I set sail.
My breast flung forward and my lungs swollen
like white canvas, windswept I scale
The backs of heaping waves over which
gentle night has wound a darkling veil.

So all the passions of a vessel suffering
rise in me; the brave blast
Of winds, and storms in their convulsive movements,
swing me, cradled on the vast
Abyss. At other times, dead calms, like mirrors
there, reflecting my despair.

---

Charles Baudelaire (1821 - 1867)

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.