Tommy0161

By Tommy0161

Café in the trees...

I wasn’t supposed to be at ASDA this morning as I’d given up Saturdays but, with it being Mother’s Day tomorrow, I’d agreed to go in and sort out the flowers so they were all looking wonderful for when people come in to buy them. There were a ridiculous number of boxes of them in the yard. I did a huge display that barely impacted on the number they had sent in.

It was then into the university to take some pictures for a Manchester Curious thing I’m involved in and then over to Chorlton to have a quick meeting about the garden we’re planning for Dig The City 2016 and then to see some of my students for some tutoring.

I went to see the 14 year old guy. I’d been last week and he wasn’t there. His family had gone to Leicester and his brothers were at work. He told his parents I’d not come. I had! He’d been in bed at noon and couldn’t be bothered to get up to answer the door. Busted! He’s 14 and getting out of bed before noon is difficult at that age especially if your mother is in Leicester! But it was a good lesson as it was with his two younger cousins at the other end of Seymour Grove.

It was a busy morning for me but I still found some time for a coffee and flapjack and, as I was near it, I had it in the cafe at the Whitworth Art Gallery. The cafe is a beautiful, light and airy glass box with the tables at the height of the branches of the trees of Whitworth Park where the gallery is sited. The flapjack was delicious and unctuous and I’d eaten it before I thought to take pictures. I’m sorry I missed yesterday’s snow here, the park would have looked lovely. Spot Tom…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.