Clean for the Queen

As I’m sure all of you living in the UK will know this weekend is “Clean for the Queen” .  .  .
 
It’s ironic that Macdonalds, Costa, KFC, and Greggs were amongst the sponsors.  We don’t have a local Greggs nor nearby KFC, but I’m sure if they had been they would have been sharing the bags with the others.
 
Our WI organised a “Big British Breakfast” combined “Clean for the Queen” for this morning.  Unfortunately not enough people booked for the breakfast so it had to be cancelled, but we did get free bacon butties as a consolation.
 
The blip is of just a few of the bags collected around Rippingale.  We are fortunate that a couple of public minded people do collect litter on their morning walks, so it is kept down anyway.  I’m not one of them, and to date I’ve always missed the annual village litter picks organised by the Parish Council, so on this occasion it was a three line whip, and I’m glad I made it. As the morning moved on I was getting more and more annoyed by the mentality of the morons who think they can just dump their litter anywhere!!  In the same category as the dog walkers who do not clear up behind their dogs who make it bad for those of us that do.
 
Tomorrow, weather and circumstance permitting, a couple of us will be cleaning the village signs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.