Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Derelict - it'll still be there Sunday

Seems odd somehow having a derelict graveyard but this is one.
Thousands of people pass within yards of it every day but I doubt many know that it's there. I found it a long time ago looking for a viewpoint for another picture.
Unfortunately the strong cider drinkers, drug addicts, etc have found it so I had to do a bit of quick clearing out of sight of modern society's detritus before taking the pic - plastic bottles and bags, beer/cider cans, empty Durex packets, etc - but the natural detritus adds to the picture I think.
Some good Yorkshire names here and a lot touching messages. The youngest I found died at only four years old, and  the earliest date I've found on the grave stones is 1806. Seems sad to me that all the loving messages are left to be abused in this way.
I understand that 'Derelict Sunday' blips can be posted any day of the week but in this case DS is derelict Saturday.
Thanks to TMLHereAndThere for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.