Downtown Architecture

My son and I went for a bike ride to downtown today and took a walk around.  Our Downtown is a mix of old, older and new.  I think it was very active at the turn of the last century and there are lots of buildings with intricate facades.  But sometime after the plaza opened in the midtown, and then the suburbs, the downtown died.  In that early flight, several of the facades were covered with to make them more "modern."  You can see the covering on the first floor of this building.  

My husband and I have lived here for over 20 years and when we arrived, the was very little of interest downtown.  But in recent years, the town has done some investment, and now there are loft apartments, interesting restaurants, and new parks.  We saw a lot of people walking around on a saturday afternoon.  

It makes me happy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.