Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Canada Goose

The farm pond that we walk past on our regular constitutional occasionally has something interesting on/in it, so I always give it a look as I go past - just in case. It's pretty far away, so I usually just see something that isn't "usual" and then look at it thru my camera, zoomed in, to see what it might be. Today I saw something white and thought "what's that then?" It turned out to be a goose. Actually there was a pair of Canada Geese, but this is just the one I saw first - they were rather widely separated. Plus some rather nice reflections.

On other occasions there have been, in no particular order:

Great Blue Heron
Green Heron
Hooded Merganser
Wood Duck
Mallard
Yellow-bellied Sliders (turtles)

It's a nice little pond.

Oh, and speaking of Canada Geese, I learned on Friday at the Wildlife Center - where there happens to be a new Canada Goose patient - that they have now changed the four letter abbreviation for Canada Goose to CANG. It used to be CAGO. I suppose there's a reason to change it, possibly another bird that comes out the same if you use the first two letters of each of the words of its name? Who knows??!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.