Woodpecker

I was a bit disappointed when I went up to Georges Hayes Nature Reserve to find that the car park was firmly closed, and there is nowhere safe to park near there. I hope that is only a temporary measure to protect the mud and environment. I do want to take my annual shot of the Staffordshire daffodils in all their glory.

But when I arrived at Elford Hall Gardens, I very quickly cheered up. One of the regulars told me that a woodpecker had been seen on the feeders near to the new hide in the Boathouse.  They've been restoring this old building and it officially opens as a hide next month.  They told me that I could go down there as long as I was careful.  I was.

The woodpecker was on the feeders when I arrived and I took a couple of shots - but my patience was rewarded in about an hour when he returned and, after tucking in, moved on to one of the lovely wooden stumps, where he even seemed to pose.

I don't think I've spent as interesting and exciting hour as the one when I watched such a variety of happy little creatures make the most of this little area.  The tiny mouse under the log. The beautiful long tailed tits - and the gorgeous wren.  I remember when they were really rare, mainly seen on old coins !  That's my extra photo today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.