2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Coprolite Street

Set off at lunchtime to travel to Ipswich for E's funeral tomorrow. I haven't done much train travel since my commuting days so it was odd to be doing the route to Paddington again. Luckily it was much quieter than weekdays and I sat and finished off my knitted sock using the Kitchener stitch. When I'd finished and looked up, the lady opposite me said she could see how hard I'd been concentrating on what I was doing. I hadn't been aware that she was watching me. 

Got to Liverpool Street station really early and had to wait for my train. When it finally arrived I got settled in my first class seat and waited for us to get going. After 20 minutes and some muffled announcements from the train manager, it became apparent that the train wasn't going anywhere. The points had failed just outside the station and the train was stuck. We all had to change to a crowded stopping train that took much longer. 

My sister and mum were waiting for me and we had chance for a chat and a drink in the hotel before we set off for an evening meal. We had to go past Coprolite Street - I couldn't work out why a street was named after fossilised poo. Not sure I'd like it as my address. It sounds as if there was once a factory on the docks that treated mined coprolites with sulphuric acid to turn them into fertilizer. 

We had a nice pizza and a chat and then headed back to the hotel. I've not shared a bed with my sister for about 35 years!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.