Life through the lens...

By ValC

The Pit

Gwennap Pit, near Redruth.
Where in the 18th Century John Wesley preached 18 times, between 1762 -1789.
It now stands as a memorial to the Methodist movement.
The site is included in the Mining World Heritage Site.
It can hold 1500 people around its 12 " rings".

The main photo is one I took this morning ( see our shadows)
The black and white photo is of the crowds gathering for the annual Whit Monday service, 1896. It was on the notice board, as was the aerial shot.
(So I took a photo of the photos)

Today, on Mothering Sunday, this was a kind of pilgrimage for us.
We took the old pathway up the hill from Redruth, which the people would have taken all those years ago.
It was quite steep, and extremely muddy!! I hope it wasn't as bad in those days. 

We were both brought up as Methodists.
When my mum and dad moved to Cornwall in 1969, they joined the Methodist Church in Goldsithney.
My dad played the organ, and was a local preacher. Preaching in many of the small churches nearby. ( Unfortunately some have since closed)
They also had monthly bible readings at their house, and my mum was in charge of the church flowers.
I remember when we were down at Easter, going out with mum, and  picking primroses from the hedgerows to decorate the church.
So It was nice remembering my mum today.
What was also very special was the phone call from our son, wishing me a Happy Mothers Day as we were half way through the walk, and up to our ankles in mud!

" Do all the good you can,
by all the means you can,
in all the places you can,
to all the people you can, 
as long as you ever can."

   ----- John Wesley 1703 - 1791.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.