and now.....The Wood anemone

Photographing white on a black background is not the easiest thing to do I find, especially if you want to keep all the detail in the white subject. Needless to say my deletion rate has been very high, with at least 95% of my shots over the years ending up in the bin. I think I am getting better at it as the years pass though and I was quite pleased with this shot today, especially as I intend to eventually do portraits of all our common native spring flowers.
This is the beautiful Wood anemone Anemone nemorosa, is a common spring flower in these parts, growing freely beside the roadside ditches alongside the Primroses, lesser celendines and lady's smock. It's other names include windflower, thimbleweed and smell fox an allusion to the musky smell of the cut leaves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.