A time for everything

By turnx3

When peace like a river...

Monday
I managed to catch a blip of the river in lovely afternoon light, after a day of brief dry spells interspersed with showers - of rain, sleet and even a few snow flakes!  As I strolled by the river, I was reminded of the words of the hymn, When peace like a river.., and the moving story behind it, which I heard on the BBC morning service yesterday. The first verse continues like this:

When peace like a river attendeth my way,
when sorrows like sea billows roll;
whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say,
"It is well, it is well with my soul."

Remarkable words in light of the following story.
In late 1873, Horatio G. Spafford and his family were scheduled to travel from the United States to Europe. Delayed by pressing business, Spafford sent his wife and daughters ahead on the French liner Ville du Havre. The ship collided with the English ship Lochearn on November 22 and sank in just twelve minutes. Spafford's wife was saved, but his four daughters perished. After arriving in Wales, Mrs. Spafford cabled her husband, "Saved alone." Spafford then left by boat to meet her. Near the tragic scene on the high seas he wrote this text.

1 When peace like a river attendeth my way,
when sorrows like sea billows roll;
whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say,
"It is well, it is well with my soul."
Refrain
It is well with my soul;
it is well, it is well with my soul.
2 Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
let this blest assurance control:
that Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
and has shed his own blood for my soul. Refrain
3 My sin oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
my sin, not in part, but the whole,
is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more;
praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul! Refrain
4 O Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
the clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
the trump shall resound and the Lord shall descend;
even so, it is well with my soul. Refrain

Philip P. Bliss, a family friend, wrote the tune for Spafford's text.
What a remarkable faith to be able to pen such words at such a time!

One year ago: Worth the climb!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.