Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

A Yorkshire Mărțișor on 'Ladies' Day'

On 1st March I explained in my blip the Romanian tradition of Mărțișor, when Spring tokens expressing a wish for a happy and healthy following year  are exchanged. But I said that in the part of Romania where I experienced most traditions, only the men received a mărțișor on 1st March, the women receiving them from the men on 8th March, which in Romania is Ladies' Day, usually together with flowers. Of course 8th March is also now International Women's Day.
So, for all lady blippers I've made a Yorkshire mărțișor and here it is with some flowers.
I also said that I might take the opportunity to suggest again to the blipfoto directors that if they are increasing their number they should appoint two women, and so correct the present gender imbalance. Done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.