CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The Stroud Film Festival display in Council window

I promised Philip that I'd take a picture of the Film Festival display in the Town Council window.  Tomorrow is 'our night' to put on an event in the festival and Philip ants to send a tweet to try and get some people to come.  Philip runs the Stroud Community TV website, which I helped him to start about four years ago, in order to provide a portal for all local films to be listed and with links to where they can be viewed online. The main criterion is that they be either made by local Stroud people or be about the local area. I think there are now more than 2000 films there.

So for the second year running the Stroud Community TV Awards ceremony will be held at the Crown and Sceptre, my local pub. The winning entries will be shown and the highly collectable prize of an 'Oscat' statue being presented to the winners.  My job is to run the technical aspects and play all the films we have gathered together (about fifteen in all) from my laptop onto a large screen.

The Film Festival started last Friday and will run for two weeks.  I helped organise the window display using some of my own equipment and got a loan of the 16mm film editing machine and the rolls of film and sound stock from an actual BBC documentary which Pip edited some years ago. I have added a closer view of the editing machine as an 'Extra photo'. 

Of course such equipment is now wholly obsolete but I think it needs to be shown, as do the posters in the background of the old local cinemas of the town, one of which, the Gaumont, was in the building next to this office and is now a music club, I gather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.