Belvedere Mill, Chalford

I offered to drive up to Chalford this morning so that Helena could go to the jumble sale in aid of refugees, which was being held in the local church hall.  I decided that I would not go in particularly when I saw the number of cars parked along the adjacent main road.  Instead I parked down by the River Frome which is just a short walk away.

I found I had left my wide lens at home, and so picked up my Fujifilm compact which I took on my trip and which I became very attached to.  I parked beside the bridge over the Frome which takes the road up the hillside to Minchinhampton.  It is a very ancient crossing point of the sometimes fast flowing river.  Below the bridge is Belvedere Mill, one of many on this river  which were originally linked to the woollen industry  which began locally in medieval times.

As I stood on the bridge a car pulled up and I heard a voice from inside saying that it is often possible to see herons standing in the mill pond.  I turned around and recognised the man who was speaking as I had met Fergus several miles away and blipped him on the day before flying to Sri Lanka!

After he drove on I moved to the south bank of the river and took this picture, but I have added the view from the bridge as an 'Extra photo'. The light was slightly better then. I seem to be taking lots of pictures around the river.  My blip two days ago was shot just a mile downstream in the next village.

In case you might be interested in the history of the local wool industry and the associated mills, check out this interesting website produced by friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.