Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Olde Oak Tree

It's been a rainy overcast day. I took a few pictures n my travels but on passing this very old oak tree in my village I thought I'd stop and photograph it.

I read recently that the way to get a rough idea of their age is to measure around the trunk about four feet from the ground. This was about 19' which in inches is 228 inches and at 1" a year makes it at least 228 years old. It does look older. I'm willing to stand corrected if I've done it wrong.

I'm off shortly to watch the Cardiff City v Leeds game. It's getting exciting now we are on the verge of the play-off positions. We need to keep winning and hope other teams don't don't!

*  According to Woodland Trust Oak estimator link it dates to about 1600AD - certainly a lot older than I'd guessed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.