My Year in Pictures

By jenny

Thor vs The Hulk

James has just said to me "if it wasn't you telling me this story I'd think you were having me on!"

Rewind 1 hour and as I went out for my walk with Bill I was stopped as I went into the fields by a very plaintive "can you tell me where I am?" from a young lad. He was on the phone to the police and had no idea where he was...

Turns out his girlfriend's dad had driven him all the way from High Wycombe and then told him to get out of the car as he wasn't Indian and had brought disgrace to the family ...

Even though he's 21, Jacob is a small lad and with the dad being rather large and angry he decided that was the best thing to do, even though he had nothing on him other than his mobile. And got out in effectively the middle of nowhere ...

He phoned his mum (estranged) in Manchester who told him to call the police.

Then I rock up!

The police ask to speak to me so we can clarify where we are and that the police will be on their way to pick him up ...

So I arrange with them to bring him back to mine until they get here.

Some may say that was rather daft but I was 100% sure he was genuine - the tear stained face and red eyes alone were enough - and the thought of him waiting in the rain, in a less than precise location was too horrible to contemplate.

So back he comes where I provided hot sugary coffee, the use of a charger to charge his now dead mobile and the use of my mobile to text his girlfriend ...

And we had a laugh about his socks ... cue request for blip ... us blippers never miss a trick!

Twenty minutes later the police arrive - 3 of them in a big van and a car - and they can't quite believe the story either. "High Wycombe? Really? And you're not related? No money?"

So at 21 he's meant to be responsible for himself but thankfully they say he can go with them and they'll get him back - though whether to Manchester or High Wycombe I don't know!

I so hope he's okay - and that the police do as they promise and tell me what's happened to him.

Such a sad, and whilst it feels unbelievable is a true and I suspect too common, story.

Keeping everything crossed it all works out for you Jacob.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.