The Hidden Gem

Whilst in Manchester, and with 5 minutes to spare before a meeting, I visited the Hidden Gem Church - St Mary's. I am trying to get to the six venues featuring in the Be Still Trail before Easter. This is number four for me.

The Be Still trail here features the 12 paintings which make up the stations of the cross,  painted by Norman Adams in 1994.

Very bright colours, abstract in their own way, and a bit unsettling. I think that's the intention. The eyes in the painting on the left are flowers, which are meant to represent the eternal.

I wasn't that still in this church. It is hidden away, so very quiet, with a beautiful interior. I hadn't a long time for quiet contemplation - but a moment's break from a busy day is always good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.