Dinner Was Over

The eating osprey ordered the same thing I order at Cracker Barrel. Trout. They are good fishermen, and...based on the size of this fish...they must be pretty strong, too.

I was Blip-rich tonight. I was patiently waiting for the sunset, when a young man told me that I better wait around, because a boat was coming in to unload. Although I don't like to hang around after dark, I'm glad I did.

The boat was loaded with bait fish, red herring to be exact. The captain told me they had 50,000 pounds. With 10 fish to a pound...that's 500,000 fish. 500,000 FISH!!!!

The pelicans went berserk. While the 2 deck hands were shoveling them out of the front, the pelicans were feasting in the back. And, I mean feasting. Fish after fish went down the hatch. It was the only time I've EVER seen them quit eating. They must have ate their fill. By the time I left, there wasn't a single bird left on the boat.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/124969130@N06/albums/72157665074248260 Check out just a few fish shots (it was getting pretty dark) on my Flickr page. My blip alternate was the silhouetted blue heron, ready to strike at another heron.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.