Counting

The meeting today began almost at Bankers' Hours; 0930. I guess I'm showing my age in referring to Bankers' Hours, meaning 10 am to 4 pm. Until about 1990 (as I recall) banks were only open those hours, Monday to Friday, and anyone working bankers' hours was deemed to have a cushy number. Nowadays, banks act as if they are just another retail outlet, and are open from 9 am to 4:30 or 5 pm.

So I was able to let myself wake when ready and take a walk along the waterfront as the sun came up; behind the hills and the clouds. The light was quite magical this morning and I was happy with a number of photos. 

As I walked along, I saw Peter sitting and watching the passing walkers, runners, cyclists. Some exercising purely. Some heading for work. Initially, I thought he was reading a book which he had on top of his bag. He bade me "Good morning", to which I replied in kind. That was when I saw that he had a pen, and that he wrote in his book. I watched him for  a while after passing, and he made notes, and occasionally wished another person a good morning.

I was intrigued, but carried on and took more photos. The best I have added as today's extra. On the return walk, I went up to him and asked if he minded me asking him what he was doing. Not at all. He was very happy to tell me that he was counting all the people heading north. And then he was counting all the people heading south. He was counting them in two ways. The page he was recording on had a large open arrow marked "N" on one side of the page, and another pointing the other way, marked S, on the other side of the page. He was marking groups four vertical lines crossed by a horizontal line in each open arrow. He also (in his right hand) had a wee counter. 

I obviously looked puzzled, and he volunteered that he didn't know why the City Council wants the information, speculating that maybe they want to do something to make more room for all the cyclists and runners as well as the pedestrians.

We exchanged names, and he consented to a photograph. He asked that I email him a copy, and provided his email address. I continued back to the hotel, my shower,  and then breakfast. And told myself that I was glad I had found out rather than presumed what he was doing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.