The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Stopping a Legacy

My daughter quit smoking today. For those in shock, yes, my older daughter was smoking. Not a lot, mind you, but enough to have me very upset.

Many people smoke. Perhaps you do too. You are free to smoke as you please, just don't do it in my face. I'm allergic and get bronchial and sinus problems from the smoke.

These cigarettes profess to be additive free, yet are still not a healthy option. There are still warnings on two sides of the pack. Pregnant women should not smoke or drink, and certainly should not do drugs, yet many of them do it. Tobacco smoking can cause many different health issues, yet people continue to smoke. Warning labels do nothing but prevent lawsuits.

In my family, smoking sets off a genetic predisposition to heart disease. I have three siblings who have all had heart issues related to smoking. One of them died 3 years ago. One of my last memories of her was when she made me swear that I would not tell her surgeons that she was still puffing away. It could take her off the heart transplant list.

My father smoked 3 packs a day and died at age 60 as a result of his "habit." As a result, I was left, at age 9, without a father. From that day forward, I vowed that I would not become a smoker, and taught my two daughters from an early age, that smoking kills people in our family.

I took this photo today, after my daughter came downstairs and proceeded to tear up her cigarettes and throw them in the garbage. I took some of the refuse out and photographed the remains.

A reminder that she quit.

A reminder to never smoke inside of our house.

A display of love and respect for remembering who she is and how valuable her life is. A promise to do it for her dad if she wouldn't do it for herself.

A sacrifice.

The first day of becoming a real adult, and stopping a family legacy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.