My Lovely Mum

I have been to visit my mother today. It's about a 2 hour drive and today the journey was smooth with no hold-ups.  The wet, though, made everything unpleasant with all the spray.  I don't think it actually stopped raining all day.

We had a cup of tea and a chat before going out for some lunch.  I had taken all my camera gear as I wanted to get a portrait of mum in her own environment with things that are important to her - her knitting and her love of reading.  Now her eyesight is not so good she doesn't knit any more but she still loves her books; the kindle has been a bonus as the font size can be increased to whatever is necessary.  Mum also loves watching TV and films - her collection of DVDs is impressive and we share a love of the classics - Jane Austen, Oscar Wilde etc.

Mum loves her chair in which she can lie back or can tip her out!  She sits by the window where she can see her garden - looking lovely at the moment with all the daffodils in bloom.  She is also keen on watching the birds and used to go out with my father when he was alive to local bird reserves.

Mum is now 89 years old and her mobility is poor but she is content - she never moans or grumbles.  My daughters are not convinced I have inherited that attribute!  It says something for her love of family when everyone gathered together for her birthday recently - her children, her grandchildren (6) and all her great-grandchildren (6) - 19 of us sharing a meal and respect for this lovely lady.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.