photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 69 of 366 - Whitefriars Gate!

Today's image was taken in the Much Park Street area of the City Centre of Coventry. The image is of Whitefriars Gate. This Grade II* listed Gatehouse was an outer Gateway leading to the nearby Whitefriars friary. It was built during the 14th Century. Ron Morgan gave the Gatehouse one of it's more recent uses by turning the building into as a Toy Museum in 1973. After Ron died in 2007 the city council closed the Gatehouse and started further restorations of the building. The Gatehouse was set on fire by arsonists in 2009. The roof and floors in the back were damaged. I took the original image from the rear of the gate as there is a lot of screening and building equipment for a nearby project obscuring the front view.

The photo was taken using the App ExposerGL on my iPhone 6.

First I used the app Leonardo to edit the image. I first took away the newer building that could be seen behind the gatehouse on the right side. I then boosted the clarity and saturation a little. Next I cropped and straightened the picture. I then used the app Mextures to apply the preset called Echo by Ana Gomez de Leon. After this I used DistressedFX to add the Stirred overlay and the Lade texture. I then flattened the image and added the Egret overlay and another copy of the Lade texture. Finally I used the app PhotoToaster to add the Clarify preset, the Drama FX, the Paper texture and the Charcoal frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.