Foyer

So farewell George Martin. Aff to join the immortals.
After a day of WFH, including the briefest of trips to see my man at York Place, it was oot to see a movie. Isn't the place looking lovely and twinkly? And Oliver Stone was in cinema one, in conversation. But I was in cinema three to see the aptly named Chronic starringTim Roth. Best screenplay at Cannes 2015, didn'tcha know? Lumme.
Still, at least it was short and I was able to leg it to the DigDogs.
There we finished with a dram from Scotland's oldest distillery. Bowmore, Strathisla?  Naw, neither!

Addendum
What a palaver getting home – I was early at the stop so naturally went for an al fresco pee. The last 34 bus went past! Gagh. So I walked to the top of Ardmillan, thinking, bugger..  cab.. expense.. and saw a 35 coming – I ran towards it but was too slow - but the driver though slowed and pointed to the next stop a few hundred yards away. And there he sat with his winkers on, waiting for me. Puff puff. Climbing aboard I explained I was only going to Semple St. The all important connection with the last 24. But the bus stop at Semple St wasn’t in use cos of roadworks. Gagh again! Round the block we went through two set of lights, the 24 showing as due on my app. Fekk it – as we approached the stop to alight, the 24 came to the stop across the 5 lane road – sob. I was just going to miss it. But my driver waved over and indicated to the 24 to wait while I legged over the road and got on. What a great, great bloke. Lothian buses making sure all the drunks roll home safely. I’m all in favour of this nanny state after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.