kevinmcc

By kevinmcc

What is a "triggered avocado?"

and why would the Fire Department be interested? That was the same question I had when I noticed the label in the cab of Seattle Fire Department Ladder truck L8?

Today was a day of many summer festivals in Seattle, and the Seattle Fire Department had one of their larger trucks on display at one festival I attended.

Before I could get a chance to ask them, they had to suddenly leave to answer a fire call. Lights, sirens, and they were gone in two seconds - well, it seemed like two seconds :)

So... it was off to Google to try and find out why the Fire Department might be interested in this apparent grocery store label.

Turns out that avocados and other fruits and vegetables are often pre-ripened using "ethylene" gas, which is actually a flammable gas. OK - makes sense so far.

Here are a few of the links I found regarding "triggered avocados."

And another.

And if you are still interested, one last link.

So... we learn something new every day. One additional fact that I came across is that avocados can be fatal to dogs. So be careful if you have pets around the food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.