kevinmcc

By kevinmcc

The Ansco Titan

Sounds like the name of some ship, but it is NOT. The Ansco Titan is a 6x6, 120 film, medium format folding camera that was produced prior to 1950.

The parent company was originally the German manufacturer Agfa, however Ansco had since severed their ties to Agfa. To the best of my knowledge, my copy was manufactured in Binghampton NY, and still takes GREAT pictures to this day, IF you are willing to pay the price :)

These days, a 12 exposure roll of 120 medium format film will set you back about $5 to $7 dollars. Processing at a custom lab will run around $15. Bottom line - about $1.75 per shot, sales tax included.

The negatives are about 4 times the size of a 35mm negative, so if you manage to capture a nice shot - you have a GREAT shot capable of being blown up to very large proportions.

Here is a link that provides a little more information about this classic (yet still affordable) camera. My copy is an earlier version, not near as fancy as the camera in the link.

Despite a couple of little scuffs on the bellows, my copy is virtually light tight and still takes great images. I take it out once or twice a year :)

It is interesting the comments that this camera sometimes provokes from passersby. "How OLD is that camera?" - "WOW, I used to have one of those when I was a kid" - and my personal favorite "is that a REAL camera, I mean... like a film camera?"

Kind of reminds me of the lyrics from one of Frank Zappa's songs - "is that a real poncho, or a Sears poncho" from "Cozmik Debris" in the 1970s.

Want to see what this camera can do...

Want to find out even more info about me?....

Want to to find out more about my first (and last) experience buying pantyhose? read the whole sorrid story if you must...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.