Not Keswick or Words

We are currently in Keswick - 'Words by the Water' - but obviously this picture is not connected to either Keswick or Words.

On our way over to Keswick we stopped at Rheged to see the Harris Tweed exhibition that several blippers have been to. A fine exhibition with some wonderful photographs. Having been to the Outer Hebrides several times, it was great to recognise places and views. In the past I have been round a warping shed, watched weavers in their homes and bought Harris Tweed cloth, so I appreciated what he was trying to do. I haven't blipped a photo from the exhibition, as there have already been some excellent ones.

What I have blipped, linking on from yesterday, is lime kilns. Rheged was built in a disused quarry and, when it was built, the lime kilns that had been used were preserved. Although they can be seen from inside the centre, it took quite a bit of exploration to actually get to them. (I didn't fancy trying the fire doors which seemed to be the only access.) Walking round the building was no good and the lady on Reception said it was the strangest question she had been asked - she didn't know the answer. Eventually we found a service road and a track down to them - and I managed a photo! Incidently, the doorway of Rheged was modelled on a lime kiln - I don't suppose many visitors appreciate that.

In Keswick
We've been to a fascinating talk about cattle droving and those people who have followed me for a while will know exactly why I found this especially interesting. And I bought a book. But I am actually over a hundred pounds in pocket, as the Harris Tweed book that I could have bought but didn't would have been at least £135.

Now we are back for a talk by Max Adams. We really can't do without a regular fix! It was good to talk to him in the cafe earlier this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.