Not Beavers

You could say that I have 'lived' with the Brontës most of my life - certainly since I was a child and was taken to the parsonage in Haworth on many occasions. The whole place made a lasting impression on me and I am sure that it was seeing those tiny books, that the Brontë children made, that awakened in me a desire to read and write and make books - something that has never left me. I read all of their books when I was a teenager and have read most of them several times since then. I have walked the moors around there so often. And 'Wuthering Heights' is still my 'desert island book'.

So, to listen to Juliet Barker, a writer I very much admire, talking about the Brontës, and Charlotte in particular, was a joy. And yes I did buy a book and yes I did have it signed. So here is the lovely lady at the signing after the talk. (Very tricky getting a picture with so many people milling round).
 
Keswick Theatre was buzzing today - people coming and going from one talk or another, buying books, reading books or just chatting. A great atmosphere.
 
(Gordon went to a talk about Beavers.)
   
I wonder if anyone else has been listening to a dramatisation of 'Jane Eyre' on Radio 4. Very well done, it has been 15 enjoyable minutes every morning for the last two weeks. Worth catching up with if you are interested and missed it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.