On the Artist's Way

So this afternoon I went out for my Artist's Date - a visit to the Museum of Edinburgh to have a look at the small exhibition of pencil drawings of parks around Edinburgh. All drawn by Adele Gregory and very interesting they were too. Like any exhibition, some had more impact than others but the soft tones worked well at capturing some of Edinburgh's quiet places, including the local Figgate Park and Brunstane Burn. I also had a look round some of the rest of the museum, having never been in before. I liked the short film of the history of the city, although I would have liked the animation of the growing city - in the style of a computer game such as Civilisation - to have continued through the whole story. Presumably that would have cost too much to make.
On my way to the museum I picked up a new writing book for L for her Morning Pages and took this picture of the Festival Theatre. I have memory of saying at Saturday's Artist's Way check-in that I would publish one picture this week that used the much-derided 'selective colour' technique. Something about just doing for myself, rather than allowing the criticism of others to constrain what sort of photographs I take. If it is a process then there will be plenty of steps along the way that have already been taken by others, some of them down paths that they gave up on. Doesn't mean I can't explore them for myself. And it may well be a cliche to 'do a Schindler' but I'm going to do it anyway.
So there.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.