Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Sleeping beauty - flower friday

I'm no expert on flowers - even when I had a very large garden, well over an acre (about 0.6 hectares), I grew almost all vegetables. But I do so like it when a dinner guest brings me - as the cook -  flowers, instead of or as well as for the lady of the house. It happens occasionally.
However, yesterday I promised you a "great flower" today. Of course amaryllis are beautiful, usually spectacular, so why is this one "great"?
Well, because she (I always think of flowers as female!) has come out of hibernation with this wonderfully delicate arrangement of pink and cream.
She last bloomed six years ago, and for several years before that, with a spectacular deep red colour. This was before we moved to our present home - maybe she wasn't all that happy with the move. Each year since then, until now, she's produced just a single green leaf, no flower.
Of course women often age with increasing beauty. Doesn't she just prove the point?
Am I right in thinking flower friday no longer has a number? My attempts to find a recent tag produced no result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.