Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Eastern Bluebird - Yard Bird # 23

While out pottering in the yard, I kept hearing the burbling "turalee" song of a bluebird, so I was keeping an eye on the 4 nest boxes to see if the songster might make an appearance.  Sure enough, this beautiful male took a good long look at Box # 2 and even sang a quick song from the roof.  He was alone, so my hope is that he'll bring his mate back to see if she likes the summer cottage.  Fingers crossed...

I put up my first bluebird box about 5 years ago and have added 3 more bb boxes and 2 wren boxes since then.  Every summer, I've had two broods of house wrens (usually in a bb box) and most summers I get a brood of chickadees.  Last summer, a pair of tree swallows used Box 3# for a late summer brood, which was very exciting.  But never bluebirds. So maybe this will be the year.

Anyway...a bluebird is always such a wonderful bird to see that it just had to be today's blip.  Until he showed up, I was all set to show you the latest adventures of Daphne and Beauregard --- but blue trumps tiny.  

And speaking of trumps...last night's republican debate was somewhat tamer and more civilized than others in recent weeks.  Frankly, after last week's sophomoric show, it was a relief not to have to hear another round of pointless and ridiculous jabs from candidates who are acting more like badly behaved little boys than future leaders of ...anything.

Sorry for grossing some of you out with the snake yesterday, but I so seldom see snakes, let alone one posed so nicely, that it had to be my blip.   And hopefully today's bluebird will make up for it!

Happy Friday, people.

PS:  And some late-breaking news!  Saw my season-first Eastern Phoebe in the yard today, busy trying to snatch small insects out of the air.  Put a heavily cropped image in Extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.