Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Season first!

I met up with a friend today for some photography, birding, and catching up.  We had stopped to look at some sparrows across a narrow canal when I suddenly spotted this large Northern Water Snake, looped over the branches.  Several minutes of shutter clicking followed, during with time the snake never moved so much as a scale.  Obviously it had just come out of hibernation and was trying to warm up.  Anyway, made my day to see a snake in what still technically winter in the northeast!  

Nothing else unusual, although we did log 22 species of birds as well as both red and gray squirrels, one ground hog, and one chipmunk.  I posted a few other shots on Flickr, if you'd care to have a look...
Green-winged teal, showing his namesake wings
A very silly hen mallard
A yakking hen mallard
Drake mallard showing his purple wing bar

Temps in the mid-70's again today - I went out in shorts and a t-shirt.  Bliss!  Tomorrow will be cooler, in the 50's so back to long pants and turtle necks.  Not that I am complaining.

Ciao, good people.
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.