Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Snow Day...

I confess that I really enjoy waking up and finding freshly falling snow.  I'd already taken over 100 shots before I even had breakfast; and probably took somewhere around 400 in total.  As usual, most end up in the bin, but some were worth keeping. 

I like this one of the female Northern Cardinal because it is rather minimalistic.  If you look closely, you can see some snowflakes falling between the lens and the bird; and the entire background was a sea of white.  I did fiddle a bit with the white balance to remove some gray tones from the snow.  Even in a heavy overcast like this morning, snow still fools the camera sensor and puts too much gray in most of the photos.  An easy fix in Lightroom.

It has been great fun to spend most of the day with the camera.  I've not been spending as much time with photography as I'd like lately, so today felt like a wonderful little escape.  

We got about 4 or 5 inches of snow between last night and early afternoon.  But now the sun is out and the surfaces, like deck, driveway and walkways have melted - meaning that we don't need to deal with any snow removal.  It's going to be quite cold for the next few days and then another storm headed our way on Tuesday which looks like it could dump quite a lot of snow.  We'll be watching that one.

Kind of hoping that fox comes along while there is still snow on the ground - that would make a lovely shot...

I've posted 5 other photos from this morning starting HERE on Flickr starting with a rambunctious starling.  There were well over 100 birds around the garden/yard this morning.

Happy Friday, people.  And for Flower Friday, I'm putting some snow-covered iris in Extra...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.