Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fancy Dancer

This isn't a great shot, but I really like it and sometimes that is the only criteria that counts when picking my "one" shot for the day.  Truthfully, I didn't do much photography today.  I had to run some errands early this afternoon and grabbed the camera ... just in case.  As luck would have it, there were loads of ring-billed gulls hanging out in a parking lot, eager to be photographed.  This one, a first-winter juvenile, was just landing when I snapped this.  Not crisp focus, but I like the splayed tail and feet stretched out.  Just a slight crop and a bit of adjustment in LR.  My second pick for today is HERE on Flickr, another 1st year gull, flying past.

Last night when SIL went to walk the Little Dog around 9, she was greeted at the back door by a skunk.  Luckily, no noxious emissions and the skunk beat a hasty retreat.  Although I know we have skunks in the woods, I never see them as they only come out late at night.  With all the heavy snow-cover, I suspect this one was cleaning up some stray bird seed under the feeders.  Hope he got a good meal.

Had a great chat with my parents this morning.   They are still in the southwest, waiting until the weather in Oregon improves before they head north.  Smart.

I'm chicken-sitting for the next week for our friends who have the farm so I went over this morning to get familiar with everything.  The bonus is that I get to come home with fresh eggs every day - including the fourteen I came home with today!  I'm sure there will be a chicken photo at some point this week - how could I pass up and opportunity like this?  Meanwhile, tomorrow's Sunday Dinner will be a big fritatta with leeks, mushrooms, tomatoe,  goat cheese --- and freshly laid eggs. 

We continue to be under a blanket of snow with temps only in the high 30's going down to high teens/low twenties at night.  Spring feels so far away right now...

Thank you for stopping by!

xo
Debbi   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.