Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Again?

Just a few flurries this morning, nothing to require any attention.  I stood just inside the side garage door, motionless, waiting.  Eventually the blue jays (5 of them) worked up their courage to land in the cherry tree not 12 feet from where I stood, eyeing the peanuts I'd put out.  After much discussion, an emissary was sent in to grab some peanuts; after which it was a bit of a free-for-all.  The light was harsh so I wasn't able to get a shot where the whites in the snow weren't blown.  Some days, though, it's okay to settle. 

I'm trying out a new recipe tonight for a Turkish dish of eggplant stuffed with chopped lamb and tomatoes.  10 years ago when Hubs and I visited Istanbul, we had the most delicious dish with lamb, eggplant and tomato sauce.  We never knew the name of the dish as it was one of those tiny places with no menu - you just point to what you want.  I'm hoping maybe this recipe I found will come close...although I suspect that part of the what made the simple meal so memorable was just being in Istanbul, a magical city.

Amazingly, the trees around the area still have large amounts of snow on them.  And although the snow is slowly melting, we continue to be covered in a fairly thick blanket of white.  Looking out over our back yard (which is about half an acre) you can see the prints of deer's hooves all over - nocturnal wanderings.  Based on the number of prints around our weeping willow, they've been "pruning" it.  Oh well.  It probably needed a bit of pruning anyway, right?

Reminder that next week's Tiny Tuesday tag is #tt146 and the theme is "up close".  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.