Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Misty Morning, Town Pool, Weston Park

As I stood in the car park of Weston Hall talking to the Park Operations Manager about two hours after this image was taken, we both agreed that we hadn't had a winter in our area.  It was simply wonderful to walk through the parkland this morning, mist and fog eddying around, the sun slowly suffusing through the moisture laden atmosphere.

This was actually the second photograph I took in the morning, just after sunrise.  It isn't an area I often photograph as the light is usually too contrasty, facing the rising sun as it is.  That is the beauty of misty conditions, it softens everything.  I couldn't normally stand here either, as large gunnera plants spread their enormous leaves over the area later in the year.

It put me in a good mood as I drove on to work.

Technical: A cropped shot, rather than a stitch.  Unusually I took it into Colour Efex Pro and used a combination of Brilliance & Warmth and Pro Contrast for the resultant image.  Also rather than using clarity I dialled it down in Lightroom, save for the area at the bottom of the image where I used a gradient filter to add it back in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.