Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Wrong Place, Wrong Lens

I hadn't intended to go out this morning, but  a last minute cry off by my wife's riding partner meant that I gave up on my morning, catching up on things, to become the gate and crossing monitor.  I am not complaining, I'm getting to indulge myself for a few days next week.

I hadn't prepared so grabbed the first camera handy, the Nikon D7100 with a 200-500mm lens attached.  Perhaps not the wisest choice for landscape imagery.  I was fairly relaxed about things; I might get the chance to capture some wildlife, deers, birds and the like.  

Things didn't start well as a large tractor was operating adjacent to the bridle way.  Queue one spooked horse.  We finally managed to traverse the field, cross the road and get up onto Cannock Chase.  I hung around.  There was plenty of evidence of birds, singing was everywhere.  However, my only visitor was a robin and even he stayed too far away for a good portrait.

So you have this group of trees, complete with a small herd of fallow deer sheltering underneath.  Because of the lens this is actually a 6 shot stitch, 2 rows of three images.  In some ways it helped as it isolated the trees effectively from the background, but I had to use less than ideal settings to maintain sharpness.  Still needs, must!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.